SAZERAC presents:

Models and Simulations of High-Redshift Galaxies

October 27 - 28, 2021 14:00 - 17:00 UTC

(7-10am PDT, 10-1pm EDT, 3-6pm BST, 4-7pm CEST)

SOC: Chris Lovell, Aswin Vijayan, Stephen Wilkins, Aaron Yung, Erik Zackrisson

Location: Zoom, YouTube, and Slack

In coming years, ground-based and space telescopes will jointly deliver constraints that will transform our view of the z > 6 galaxy population. This is likely to shed new light on the formation and evolution of galaxies, cosmic reionization, the growth of supermassive black holes, the emergence of dust and possibly even on the nature of the first stars. Simulations and spectral synthesis modelling of high-redshift galaxies will play a key role in both forecasting and interpreting these data. In this two-day SAZERAC SIP, we would like to bring the simulation/modelling community together to discuss some of the challenges ahead. Topics to be covered include:

Contributed talks will be selected to give priority to graduate students and early-career scientists. Questions and discussions among participants will be encouraged on a dedicated official Slack channel.

By participating in this SAZERAC sip you agree to abide by the SAZERAC code-of-conduct. For queries about this sip please email the sip chair Aaron Yung.


Schedule

Session 1: October 27, 2021 - 14:00 - 17:00 UTC

Simulation frameworks Model galaxies in the context of EoR

Session 2: October 28, 2021 - 14:00 - 17:00 UTC

Dust Chemical evolution / AGN